Sardines ala Tom Yam

Ok what’s not to like about sardines right? It can be cooked or even just ate it right off the can.

Reminds me of the maggi mee slogan “Fast to cook, Good to eat!” … Yeah definitely the right slogan to share with the likes of sardines πŸ˜‰

Last night, after work, called my girls to cook the rice and upon reaching home, quickly get the troop to help me prepare this dish, Sardines ala Tom Yam as I called it.

Its easy to cook and taste good to my palate hahahaa…. cos I like spicy foods and it does taste similar to Tom Yam soup.

I opened two cans of sardines, wash off the sauce, dried them and fried them for about 2 mins on each side with a little oil. Drained them and put aside.

Then, my eldest girl, chopped 4 birds eye chillies, 2 green chillies, 1 big onions (cut into four), 1 lemongrass, 2 kaffir lime leaves.

Boil water in a medium size pot. Add the ingredients above. Then add in a bit of lime juice (about 2 tbsp), add the sardines and salt to taste. Let it simmer for a while and then off the fire. Ready to be eaten with rice. Yumsss!!!!

This is what I like most, a simple dish that is easy to cook and fast to eat, so very convenient for a working mother like me πŸ˜‰

20130706-090502.jpg

Leave a Reply

