A fall and A pau!

Anyone like the Humpty Dumpty nursery rhyme?  I do!

So today as I dragged myself to work (working on a Saturday really sucks!!) …. like Humpty Dumpty who had a great fall, I had too! except I did not sat on a wall to begin with and my fall was not that great to break me but it did enough harm to the body 😦

Now I have a small bump (swollen) on the left knee, exactly on the knee that has been weakened by pain on numerous times and a headache that is still bothering me (I bang my head on the metal pole of the stairway near the ramp where I fell)

Ok looks like my Saturday did not begin in a good note but hopefully it does end with a happy one! 🙂

Alright, let’s forget about the fall … I really don’t want to talk about it, much rather not even feel or think of the pain!

Today, just want to share a recipe of making “pau sambal” or “spicy anchovies buns”.  A favourite of the family and friends who had tried them 🙂

Since I had shared it over the facebook as requested by my friend, I thought why not post over here as well.

Pau Sambal

Ingredients :

3 cup of plain flour
2 tsp of yeast (instant), mix with 1/4 warm water and 1 tbsp of sugar.  Mix and leave it aside for about 10 mins.
2 tbsp margarine (or butter)
1 egg
1/2 cup water mix with a pinch of salt

Method:

1. Add flour into a bowl, make a hole and add in egg, yeast, margarine.

2. Mix everything well and knead the dough slowly till it appears shiny and soft … add water bit by bit making sure the dough it not too dry or hard.

3. Leave the dough aside to rise for about half an hour or more.  Cover the bowl with a towel.

4. When ready, pump out the air from the dough and knead again.  Then divide the dough into small balls which then you roll into circle with about 1 cm of thickness.

5. Add the buns or pau in trays (sprinkle some flour over the trays first so that the buns won’t stick to it), let it rise again (abt 10 mins or more) before frying each of them in a small fire (make sure the oil is really hot before frying them)

6. Once it has turn golden brown, drain the oil.  When it’s cool, cut into the middle of the pau and add a small scoop of “sambal ikan bilis” filling in it.  Can also add a slice of cucumber insdie as part of the filling.

Note : You can varies the fillings, not necessarily sambal but up to your taste and creativity.

155797_177677938912280_3534700_n

3 thoughts on “A fall and A pau!

  1. Very adoiiss.Hope you are feelingmuch much better by now Busu ku.Bebaik jalan besok2 gi kerja lagi nanti ok.Consult a doctor kalo terus sakit n pening busu…jangan biar lama2 ok.And thanks for the recipe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

