Pumpkin porridge

Tried this recipe a few days ago. What motivates me to try it out was after I watched the Korean drama Angel Eyes. The way the actress ate the porridge looks to yummylicious so I thought of trying it out.

The pumpkin porridge turned out to be a sweet type of porridge. Pumpkin are known for their nutritious values but I have to say I prefer my porridge savoury so after trying out the pumpkin porridge I did not find it quite to my taste.

Here is the recipe and I chose not to blend the porridge so mine was less refine.

Pumpkin porridge

Ingredients :

1 1/2 lb pumpkin, seeded and peeled
3/4 cup rice
4-5 cup of water
3-4 tbsp white sugar
3-4 tbsp light brown sugar
salt to taste

Methods :

Rinse the rice and soak in a big bowl for about an hour or more.
Slice the pumpkin and boil them with 4 cup of water. Once soften, puree with a blender. Do not discard the broth.
Then drain the rice and blend before combining them together with the pureed pumpkin and its broth over medium heat.
Keep stirring, add more water if its too thick. Add sugars and salt to taste.
Serve with some chopped nuts or pumpkins seeds.

IMG_1282.JPG

The sliced pumpkin …

IMG_1287.JPG

My Pumpkin Porridge 😉

Leave a Reply

