Opor Nangka

Today’s menu is Opor Nangka (Young Jackfruit in Coconut Gravy)

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/065/74119771/files/2015/01/img_2308.jpg

One of my favourite and which I used to enjoy eating cos my late mom used to cook it but after her death, I have not had a chance to eat it until now when I decided to try cooking it myself. I wish today’s menu was my mum’s though, I think her special talent in cooking can’t be replace. I missed her and her pampering me with all her wonderful dishes šŸ˜¦

So this Opor Nangka is my first effort cooking it by myself. Alhamdulillah, it turns out okĀ … phew!!!!

I was kind of apprehensive cos I have this feeling it might not be good but as I said, Alhamdulillah, its taste good but not as good as my late mum’s of course.

So here is the recipe for Opor Nangka, another Malay dish. Today I used only the young jackfruit but you can add meat to the dish as well if you want. Frankly, when I do cooking sometimes I do not exactly follow the recipe, when it comes to dishes, I prefer just estimating the ingredients (main campak2 jer) so even though below is the recipe, its up to individual to add more of this or that to suit your taste šŸ˜‰

Opor Nangka

Ingredients :
500 gm young jackfruit – cut into big cube (throw the spine of the fruit), wash clean and boil for awhile till soft. Drain and keep aside

1 small box of coconut milk (I used Santan kara)
1Ā tbspĀ kerisik (roasted coconut paste), can add more if you like
1/2 tbsp of ground assortedĀ spices (see pic below)
2-3 pcs of kaffir lime leaves
1/4 cup of tamarind juice
water
salt and sugar to taste

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/065/74119771/files/2015/01/img_2304.jpg

Blended ingredients:
5 onions
4 garlics
1 inch of ginger
1 inch of galangal
2 lemongrass
1/2 inch fresh tumeric
5 pcs of dried chilli
2 candlenuts
1 tbsp of coriander seeds

Method:
– In a pot, add a bit of oil and fry the blended ingredients, fry till fragrant, add the kaffir lime leaves, the ground assortedĀ spices and water (not too much just enough to cover the jackfruit, can always add more if needed later).

– Add in the jackfruits, and the kerisik. Stir well.

– Once the gravy has boiled, add the tamarind juice and coconut milk.

– Add sugar and salt to taste. Stir often and let it boil till gravy thickens a bit. Off the fire.

Serve with hot rice and other accompanying dishes of your choice šŸ™‚

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/065/74119771/files/2015/01/img_2309.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

