Serimuka Durian

I had a craving to eat this traditional Malay kueh last Saturday. Some called it Serimuka Durian and others with the name Puteri Salad Durian …. well whatever name they called it, most important, it is one of the tastiest kueh ever!

With luck, I saw durians on my way back home from work and so without delay I bought some and within 2 hours, this kueh (cake) was cooked and I was able to feast on it in the evening ๐Ÿ˜‰

I cheated a bit, instead of using the normal glutinous rice, I used the balance of the Japanese rice which I used to make my kimbap. I did not want to waste it and luckily it turns out well. My husband even commented that he felt the rice tasted way better than the traditional glutinous rice.

Anyway, here’s the recipe ๐Ÿ™‚

Ingredients for the bottom layer:
400 gm glutinous rice, wash and pour into a container suitable for steaming (best to use cake tin with size 9โ€ or 10โ€)
Pour enough diluted coconut milk into the container with glutinous rice (coconut milk must be level as the glutinous rice)
A pinch of salt
1-2 pcs of screwpine leaves (tie in a knot)

Preparing the bottom layer:
Mix all these ingredients and steam for about 30 mins or till the glutinous rice is cooked.
Prepare another cake tin and grease it all over with a little oil.
Scoop the glutinous rice into the greased cake tin and pat down firmly (either using a spatula or towel with your hand) till the glutinous rice becomes compact.
Then pour the top layer over it and steam for about 40-45 mins or till cook.

Ingredients for the top layer:
2 cups of concentrated coconut milk (I just used KARA brand coconut milk)
1 cup of sugar
4 eggs (beat lightly)
4-5 pieces of durians (scoop out the pulps only)
3 tbsp full of plain flour
A pinch of salt

All these blend together and when the bottom layer is ready, pour the top layer and continue to steam for about 4-45 mins or till cook.

Leave a Reply

